VIDEO: Didi Gregorius called out on controversial play at the plate in 11th inning | CCTV News

Published on 12 Tháng Tư, 2018

VIDEO: Didi Gregorius called out on controversial play at the plate in 11th inning | CCTV News

The Yankees tried to walk off on a replay review Friday night, but they were denied.

Didi Gregorius attempted to score with two outs in the 11th inning on a wild pitch from Orioles reliever Mychal Givens, but he was called out after colliding with Givens on a play at the plate.

Aaron Boone challenged the play, arguing that Gregorius did not have a path to slide into home plate, but the call on the field stood.

“We challenged the blocking of the plate,” he said. “Just overruled. … the call stands or whatever. I thought he did block the plate before he got there, we certainly thought that. I understand that’s a difficult call to make in that situation but it didn’t go our way.”

Rule 6.01(i) states it is not a violation if the pathway to home plate is blocked on a legitimate attempt to field the ball.

Givens was in the process of catching the ball to tag Gregorius out when he slid and blocked the plate.

It was not the only unusual play on the basepaths during the extra inning affair.

In the sixth, Orioles manager Buck Showalter was heated after he believed a bizarre baserunning blunder should have resulted in a double play to get the Orioles out of a jam.

Giancarlo Stanton was caught in a rundown between third and home plate and ran back to third, but Gary Sanchez was standing on the base. Orioles catcher Caleb Joseph tagged Sanchez, but Stanton ran through the bag so Joseph tagged him as well.

The umpires ruled Stanton out and Sanchez safe, but Showalter argued both should have been out.

Rule 5.09 (b)(9) states: “Before being tagged, the lead runner (Stanton) runs back to and beyond third base toward left field. At this time, the trailing runner (Sanchez) has passed the lead runner as a result of the lead runner’s actions. As a result, the trailing runner (Sanchez) is out and third base is unoccupied. The lead runner (Stanton) is entitled to third base if he returns to touch it before he is out … unless he is declared out for abandoning the bases.”

Showalter said afterward the umpires told him that Stanton had already abandoned the base and was ruled out before passing Sanchez.

The call turned out to be inconsequential, as Ronald Torreyes grounded out to end the inning.